Skip to Content

hide

STAFF

CANDICE BECERRA

Secretary

x4421

 

SARFARAZ BHIWANI

Senior Secretary

x4494

 

KAREN BURZYNSKI
Academic Scheduling Specialist
x4297

 

JUDITH FIERRO

Administrative Secretary
x4374

 

HECTOR GUTIERREZ

Senior Secretary

x4394

 

JOYCE REALEGENO

Secretary

x4292

 

LARRY TIBBS

Secretary

x4377


LOCATION:

CE,  1st FLOOR

hide

WLAC

hide

WELCOME TO ACADEMIC AFFAIRS

hide

"Committed to Innovative Programs and Responsive Community Services"

 

The Office of Academic Affairs

provides coordination and support for all academic and personnel matters, programming, and other issues pertaining to the academic standards and mission of the instruction

Aracely Aguiar, Vice President and her staff are committed to providing academic administrative support to the college and most significantly to the faculty; to ensure that they have the tools required to meet the needs of West's students. We provide these services through the following:

  • Academic Programs & Curriculum
  • Accreditation
  • Faculty Review
  • Forms
  • New Faculty Orientation
  • Planning & Research
  • Program Review (Viability)
  • Schedule Production
  • Student Learning Outcomes

Deans of Academic Affairs

Mary-Jo Apigo, Ed.D.

Dean of Teaching and Learning, (310-287-4410  Apigomj@wlac.edu 

  • Accelerated College Transfer
  • Professional Learning Hub
  • Teaching and Learning
  • TItle V Cooperatives

Carmen Dones

Dean of Business and Health Sciences, (310) 287-4522, Donescm@wlac.edu

  • Business
  • Health Sciences

 

Cari Hildebrandt

DirectorWestside Extension and Contract Education, (310) 287-4541, hildebC@wlac.edu

  • Contract Education
  • West Language Academy
  • Westside Extension 

Eric Ichon

Dean of Distance Learning and Library, (310) 287-4558, Ichone@wlac.edu

Cyrus Helf, Multimedia Specialist  x4592   Helfco@wlac.edu 

Hadi Dabbagh, Online Technical Support Assistant  x4306 dabbagh@wlac.edu

  •  Distance Learnimg
  •  Library

Walter Jones, Ed.D.

Dean of General Education and Transfer,  310-287-4244, Joneswc@wlac.edu

  • Language Arts
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Social Sciences

Kimberly Manner, Ph.D., Dean of Academic Affairs, 310-287-4551, Mannerke@wlac.edu 

  • Applied Technology
  • Arts and Performance
  • Behavioral Science
  • Computer Science and Applications

Allison Tom-Miura, D.P.D.S., Dean of Adult and Continuing Education, (310) 287-4431, Tommmiua@wlac.edu

  • Basic Skills Non-Credit
  • Supervised Learning Assistance
  • Vocational Education Non-Credit

 

Division Chairs and Disciplines

Abraha Bahta, Division Chair, Science,  (310) 287-4236 | BahtaA@wlac.edu

  • Astronomy
  • Biology (Anatomy, Microbiology, Physiology)
  • Chemistry
  • Earth Science
  • Environmental Science
  • Geography
  • Geology
  • Oceanography
  • Physics

 

Bonnie Blustein, Division ChairMathematics,  (310) 287-4217  BlusteB@wlac.edu  

  • Mathematics

 

Anna Chiang, Division Chair, Computer Science & Applications,  (310) 287-4253  ChiangA@wlac.edu  

  • Applications and Office Technology
  • Computer Science Information Technology

 

Sholeh Khorooshi, Division Chair, Social Sciences  (310) 287-4539  Khoroos@wlac.edu

  • Economics
  • History
  • Paralegal Studies
  • Political Science
  • Sociology

 

Gerald Ludwig, Division Chair, Business,  (310) 287-4434  Ludwiger@wlac.edu

  • Accounting
  • Business
  • Finance
  • Hospitality
  • Management
  • Marketing
  • Real Estate

 

Maritza Medina, Student Services Assistant  (310) 287-4510  medinam@wlac.edu

  • College and Career Preparation
  • Learning Center

 

Jack Moy, Division Chair, Applied Technology,  (310) 287-4514  Moyjm@wlac.edu

  • Aviation Maintenance Technology

 

Clare Norris-Bell, Division Chair, Language Arts,  (310) 287-4590  Norrisc@wlac.edu

  • Arabic
  • Communication Studies
  • ESL
  • English
  • French
  • Humanities
  • Japanese
  • Philosophy
  • Spanish

 

Laura Peterson, Division Chair, Arts & Performance  (310) 287-4571  PetersL@wlac.edu

  • Art
  • Cinema
  • Dance Studies / Techniques
  • Film Production
  • Multimedia
  • Music
  • Theater

 

Tim Russell, Division Chair, College and Career Prep (310) 287-4318 russeltm@wlac.edu

  • Academic Preparation
  • Basic Skills
  • ESL noncredit
  • ESL Civics
  • Learning Skills
  • Supervised Learning Assistance (Tutoring)
  • Vocational Education

 

Carlos Sermeno, Division Chair, Health Sciences  (310) 287-7224  Sermenc@wlac.edu

  • Alcohol and Drug Abuse Studies
  • Allied Health
  • Certified Nursing Assistant (CNA)
  • Dental Assistant
  • Dental Hygiene
  • Emergency Medical Technician
  • Health Occupations
  • Kinesiology
  • Medical Assistant
  • Paramedic
  • Pharmacy Technician 

 

Susan Trujillo, Division Chair, Library,  (310) 287-4406  TrujilS@wlac.edu

  • Education
  • Library Science

 

Corey Williams, Division Chair, Behavioral Science,  (310) 287-4246 Williamcf@wlac.edu

  • Administration of Justice
  • Anthropology
  • Child Development
  • Corrections
  • Family and Consumer Studies
  • Fire Technology
  • Psychology